Sunday, May 26, 2019 1:58

Only 35 K-P Legislators Paid Income Tax 2013

Posted by on Monday, February 17, 2014, 11:41
This news item was posted in Business category and has 0 Comments so far .

If income tax details revealed by the Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) are to be believed, the big guns among Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa’s (K-P) politicians are from the poorest section of the province.

Federal Board of Revenue

Federal Board of Revenue

According to the Parliamentarians Tax Directory issued by FBR on February 15, of the 97 lawmakers of the provincial assembly who filed their tax returns, only 35 paid taxes while only two paid the income support levy (ISL). The government has imposed the ISL at the rate of 0.5% of the value of all moveable assets an individual owns. More interestingly, of a house of 124, only 97 bothered to make the effort of filing their returns.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) lawmaker from Peshawar Ziaullah Afridi paid ISL worth Rs97,072 and Rs231,460 in taxes while Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) lawmaker from Haripur Raja Faisal Zaman paid ISL worth Rs8,333 and taxes worth Rs54,200. The income tax returns published on FBR’s website are up till the financial year that ended on June 30, 2013 and are stated to be a “provisional edition” to be finalised by the end of this month.

K-P Chief Minister Pervez Khattak paid Rs300,494 in taxes whereas opposition leader Sardar Mehtab Ahmed Khan Abbasi paid Rs153,844 but both have not paid the income support levy. Senior minister Sirajul Haq’s name does not appear on the list.

Meanwhile, cabinet members including Minister for Information Shah Farman, Minister for Health Shaukat Ali Yousafzai, Minister for Revenue Ali Amin Gandapur, Minister for Agriculture Shahram Khan, speaker Asad Qaiser and Minister for Sports and Culture Mehmood Khan have not paid any taxes.

PTI lawmaker Dr Mehr Taj Roghani and PML-N’s Sobia Shahid were the only female MPAs among 22 women lawmakers who paid taxes worth Rs 704,730 and Rs156,000 respectively.

Of parliamentary leaders in K-P Assembly, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl’s (JUI-F) Maulana Lutfur Rehman, Qaumi Watan Party (QWP) leader Sikandar Hayat Khan Sherpao, Awami National Party (ANP) leader Sardar Hussain Babak and Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Muhammad Ali Shah Baacha have not paid a penny in taxes.

Out of the 35 lawmakers who paid taxes, only 14 have six figure payments and the rest have submitted paltry amounts. JUI-F lawmaker from Lakki Marwat Malik Noor Salim has paid the highest amount of tax amounting to Rs11.512 million, however, he paid no ISL. PTI’s Amjad Khan Afridi and Iftikhar Ali Mashwani paid Rs3.8 million and Rs3.2 million respectively in taxes. PML-N’s Sardar Zahoor Ahmed and Nawabzada Wali Mohammad Khan paid Rs2 million and Rs1.3 million respectively but did not pay any ISL.

JUI-F lawmaker Shah Hussain Khan Allai and Adviser to Chief Minister on Food Haji Qalandar Khan Lodhi have topped the list from the bottom after having paid Rs1,000 each in income tax returns.

Other lawmakers who have paid taxes are:
PTI     Mohammad Ishtiaq     Rs35,675
PTI     Khaliqur Rehman     Rs2,530
PTI     Jamshaiduddin     Rs176,158
PTI     Qurban Ali Khan     Rs55,545
JUI-F     Fazal Shakor Khan     Rs790,312
PTI     Muhammad Arif     Rs2,500
ANP     Ahmed Khan Bahadur     Rs13,625
AJIP     Muhammad Ali Tarkai     Rs2,300
PTI     Imtiaz Shahid     Rs5,403
PTI     Arif Yousaf     Rs9,180
PTI     Muhstaq Ghani     Rs128,448
PTI     Sardar Mohammad Idress     Rs3,500
PML-N     Raja Faisal Zaman     Rs54,200
PTI     Yaseen Khan Khalil     Rs27,500
PTI     Faisal Zaman     Rs16,000
PML-N     Wajehuzaman Khan     Rs35,750
PTI     Fazal Elahi     Rs7,500
JUI-F     Mahmood Ahmad Khan     Rs30,560
JUI-F     Azam Khan Durrani    Rs32,000
JUI-F    Malik Riaz Khan    Rs282,359
JUI-F    Anwar Hayat Khan    Rs260,447
JUI-F    Munawar Khan    Rs127,500
QWP    Al Hajj Ibrar Hussain    Rs339,138
JI    Inayatullah Khan    Rs11,750

You can leave a response , or trackback from your own site .

No Responses to “Only 35 K-P Legislators Paid Income Tax 2013”

Leave a Reply