Monday, January 24, 2022 11:49

Pakistan vs Sri Lanka Clash in 1st T20 Semi Final Today

Posted by on Thursday, October 4, 2012, 9:39
This news item was posted in Breaking News, Sports category and has 0 Comments so far .

Pakistan will make its fourth consecutive semifinal appearance in today’s ICC World Twenty20 semi-final being played at Premadasa Stadium against hosts Sri Lanka that played the semis of three World cups in last five years.

Pakistan vs Sri Lanka

Pakistan vs Sri Lanka

Pakistan reserved their spot at the Premadasa Stadium for one of the semi-final after a smashing Super Eight victory over Australia at the same venue on Tuesday. Pakistan dominated this match by playing 18 overs by spinners.

Home side Sri Lanka have all the requisite personnel to employ similar spin tactics in this match, on a pitch likely to reward them. While Sri Lanka can choose between Ajantha and Jeevan Mendis, Akila Dananjaya, Rangana Herath – and opener Tillekeratne Dilshan as a part-time option. Pakistan are also even more blessed with possibilities.

Pakistan will hit the ground today to improve its record against the hosts, as the country won six out of nine Twenty20 matches against Sri Lanka that achieved victory in the remaining three.

Pakistan’s all-rounder Shoaib Malik is the most prominent batsman against the hosts with 122 runs; while, Umar Gul grabbed the maximum number of Islanders’ wickets.

In contrast, Kumar Sangakkara was the leading batsman who unnerved Pak bowlers with 171 runs. Fast bowler Lasith Malinga also put Pakistani batsmen on tenterhooks on several occasions.

Pakistan Team:

Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Abdul Razzaq, Imran Nazir, Asad Shafiq, Kamran Akmal (wk), Mohammad Sami, Raza Hasan, Nasir Jamshed, Saeed Ajmal, Shoiab Malik, Shahid Afridi, Umar Akmal, Sohail Tanvir, Yasir Arafat, Umar Gul and Umar Akmal.

Sri Lankan Team:

Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Thisara Perera, Dilshan Munaweera, Lasith Malinga, Rngana Herath, Nuwan Kulasekara, Ajantha Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Ajantha Mendis, Akhila Dhananjaya and Shaminda Eranga

You can leave a response , or trackback from your own site .

No Responses to “Pakistan vs Sri Lanka Clash in 1st T20 Semi Final Today”

Leave a Reply